SouthLA

Just Another Day In SouthLA

Baldwin Hills Gateway Dedication

[UPDATE] Last week I did a post on the soon-to-be new Kenneth Hahn State Recreational Park Bridge, I requested that the city implement the area name “Baldwin Hills” into the design.  Well today I received a friendly email from David McNeil of the Baldwin Hills Conservancy, that notified me that my suggestions is already being implemented, sorta….  I greatly appreciate Mr. McNeil taking the time to reply, letting me know something is already in the works in such a speedy manner.  To my understanding a banner will  be erected this Friday at the ™ BALDWIN HILLS GATEWAY DEDICATION Ceremony.  The Ceremony will be hosted by Baldwin Hills Conservancy, Los Angeles County Department of Parks & Recreation, and Los Angeles County Department of Public Works with invited Representatives, California Assemblymember Holly J. Mitchell, Califfornia Senator Curren D. Price, and Culver City Mayor Andy Weissman.  Now I said “sorta” above because I was thinking something a little more permanent than a banner however I think this a great first step and greatly appreciate the thought.  I’m not sure if there are plans for a permanent letters to be incorporated into the design yet, but we can find out this Friday!  If your available be sure to stop and check out the planned new addition  for the South Los Angeles Community.  The Dedication Ceremony begins at 9am, and only runs for an hour so don’t be late.  Check out more details below:

Friday, October 26, 2012
9:00 AM to 10:00 AM
Kenneth Hahn State Recreation Area
4100 S. La Cienega Blvd, 90056
Parking available at the Olympic Forest
(immediately adjacent to the
La Cienega entrance)
Attire: Please wear sturdy, comfortable shoes as weather may
create muddy conditions.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2012 by in Baldwin Hills, Community, Parks and Rec, South LA and tagged , , , .
